Surf Features » Events » Ben Bourgeois wins the 2013 Belmar Pro Surf Contest

Ben Bourgeois wins the 2013 Belmar Pro Surf Contest

  • surflocal 

The 2013 Fosters Belmar Pro kicked off this year on September 12th through the 15th. This was the Belmar Pro’s 10th year running!  The first two days of the event were blessed with good, shoulder high + swell, kicked up by Tropical Storm Gabrielle. For the weekend, the waves held up with some clean 2-3ft waves and cooperative winds. 

Belmar Pro 2013 Highlights

Among the epic surfing that was going down, tent city was in full swing. Tons of sponsors, thousands of spectators and fans showed up throughout the weekend to check out this legendary event. 

Ben Bourgeois from Wrightsville Beach repeated his 2009 win at Belmar with an outstanding backside performance in the final to best 2011 champ Vince Boulanger, 2010/12 champ Michael Dunphy and Randy Townsend

Maddie Peterson, 15, chalked up her first professional win in the FSOS Womens Pro while event newcomer Justin Quintal, of Florida rode his nose all the way to the ASP Longboard title on a classic singlefin log. 

Matt Keenan continued his dominance at the Belmar Pro with a quarterfinal finish in the Mens and his first victory in the Masters over Dean Randazzo. The Legends title went to famed surfboard shaper Robert Weiner. And of course, yesterday , Sam Orozco of Dana Point won the ASP Fins Pro Junior. ”

Watch the Belmar Pro Day 2 Highlights Video w TS Gabrielle swell
Watch the Belmar Pro Day 3 Highlights Video w Fins Pro Junior finals