ASP World Champions Light Up the Gold Coast at the 2014 ASP Awards

Posted: Feb 27,2014 Written by  ASP
carissa moore and mick fanning asp award ceremony 2014
ASP World Champions, Mick Fanning & Carissa Moore at the 2014 ASP World Surfing Awards.

COOLANGATTA, QLD/Australia (Wednesday, February 26, 2014) - The world's best surfer's tonight traded sunlight for the spotlight as they hit the black carpet for the 2014 ASP World Surfing Awards - the night that celebrates the achievements of the 2013 ASP season, and officially opens the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour.
Accolades and awards are handed out to those that have contributed to the sport, including the Heat of the Year, Breakthrough Performers and of course the ASP World Champions.
The award winners:
  Peter Whitaker Award: Sofia Mulanovich 
  Breakthrough Performers: Dimity Stoyle & Kai Otton 
  Heat of the Year: Kelly Slater, John John Florence, Josh Kerr & Alana Blanchard, Coco Ho 
  Move of the Year: John John Florence & Tyler Wright 
  Wave of the Year: Kelly Slater & Stephanie Gilmore 
  ASP World Junior Champions: Gabriel Medina & Ella Williams 
  ASP World Longboard Champions: Piccolo Clemente & Kelia Moniz 
  ASP Women's World Title Runner-Up: Tyler Wright 
  ASP Men's World Title Runner-Up: Kelly Slater 
  ASP Women's World Champion: Carissa Moore 
  ASP Men's World Champion: Mick Fanning 

carissa moore and mick fanning asp award ceremony 2014
ASP Mens Champion for 2014, Mick Fanning. Photo: ASP

"You thought you saw a good show last year but I can't wait to see what the girls do in 2014" said ASP World Champion, Carissa Moore.

ASP Men's World Champion, Mick Fanning, said "I'm more excited than ever to start this new year". 

Fanning and Carissa Moore, will begin the campaign to defend their titles at the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro starting on March 1, the opening event of the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour.