2018 Big Wave Awards Nominees Are In!

Posted: Apr 12,2018 Written by  WSL

Corbett By Slatter big wave awardsA Casual One for Corbett - Photo: Trent Slatter

The list of nominees for the 2018 World Surf League Big Wave Awards has been officially released, and the WSL’s official Big Wave Awards Nominee page is now live!

$350,000 in total prize money will be awarded across seven categories: Quiksilver Airlift XXL Biggest Wave, Ride of the Year, Biggest Paddle, Tube of the Year, Wipeout of the Year, Men’s Best Overall Performance of the Year, and Hydro Flask Women’s Best Overall Performance of the Year.

Here's a few of the nominations to whet your whistle, starting with everyone's guilty pleasure, the Wipeout of the Year category!

Coco Nogales in a place we'd rather not be...


Ross Clarke-Jones on a monster at Nazaré!


Nathan Florence air drops at Jaws


Maya Gabeira absolutely charging!


10-point ride for Walsh


To watch all the nominations head on over to the WSL Big Wave Awards YouTube channel!

The 18th Annual WSL Big Wave Awards competition window concluded on March 20, 2018 and spanned the previous 12 months of surfing action. Every wave ridden at every big wave break around the world in this period was eligible for consideration across the seven categories. The winners will be crowned at an invitation-only gala in Southern California on Saturday, April 28, 2018. Viewers are invited to watch highlights of the action and acceptance speeches on WorldSurfLeague.com.