• JFolder: :files: Path is not a folder. Path: images/slideshow-front/slidere.jpg

The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau at Waimea Bay

Posted: Mar 01,2014 Written by  ASP

quiksilver big wave surfing eddie aikau waimea north shore hawaii

NORTH SHORE, OAHU, HAWAII - (Feb. 28, 2014) -
The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau holding period that began on December 1, 2013, officially draws to a close today. The original 1-day big wave invitational with a strict requirement for minimum wave face height of 40 feet, now turns its attention to the 30th celebration of "The Eddie" in the upcoming winter of 2014/15.

Organizers maintained a close watch on several big wave episodes during a very consistent season of surf on Oahu's North Shore this winter. But an unusual pattern of adverse winds and stormy conditions decimated the biggest days, including the "swell of the decade" that pummeled the North Shore with stormy waves of up to 60 feet on January 22nd.

To date, this surfing event of ultimate prestige has run only eight times in 29 years and only eight big wave riders can lay claim to attaining its high honor: Clyde Aikau (HI); Denton Miyamura (HI); Keone Downing (HI); Ross Clarke-Jones (AUS); Kelly Slater (USA); Noah Johnson (HI); Bruce Irons (HI); and Greg Long (USA).

A celebration of honor, respect, culture, surfing roots, and Hawaiian hero Eddie Aikau.

30TH Celebration of Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau
December 1: Holding period begins
December 4: Traditional Hawaiian Opening Ceremony at Waimea Bay, 3pm

Check it out at quiksilverlive.com/eddieaikau